A group of people standing in a hallway

Physik-Preis Dresden

"The future belongs to those who cooperate"

This statement does not only hold true for science but also for many other aspects of life. The intention to cooperate, on a small or on a large scale, however, needs to be encouraged and cherished continuously. For Dresden’s scientific community the successful cooperation among the Technische Universität Dresden (TUD) and the various non-university institutions, such as the institutes of the Max Planck Society, the Fraunhofer Society, the Leibniz Association and the Helmholtz Association has been recognized by the renewed excellence award for TUD  in the Excellence Initiative, the highly prestigious program of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and of the German Research Foundation.

To involve also eminent scientists from the outside into this cooperation and to strengthen Dresden’s scientific attractivity  the “Physik-Preis Dresden” has been established with a prize money of EUR 5.000.  It promotes   cooperation between the Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPI-PKS) and the Physics Department at TUD  and is geared towards outstanding researchers whose research is of particular interest to scientists in Dresden.


2017:          Prof. Daniel P. Arovas, University of California, San Diego
(Price ceremony and colloquium February 6, 2017) 

2018:          Prof. Jacques Prost, Institute Curie, Paris
(Price ceremony and colloquium December 7, 2017)

2019:          Prof. Klaus Richter, Universität Regensburg
(Price ceremony and colloquium January 15, 2019)

2020:          Dr. Adam Nahum, Oxford University
(Price ceremony and colloquium January 14, 2020)

2021:          Prof. Dr Gijsje Koenderink, Delft University of Technology
(Price ceremony and colloquium July 6, 2021)

2022:           Prof. Tomaž Prosen, University of Ljubljana in Slovenia
(Price ceremony and colloquium May 24, 2022)

2023:           Prof. Dr. Jörg Schmalian, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology


Awardees are selected annually by a joint committee of MPI-PKS and TUD.  Nominations are welcome any time to the managing director of MPI-PKS. The prize has been donated by P. Fulde.