Bound states in superconductors and interfaces

International Focus Workshop
8 - 10 April 2019

Quantum dots coupled to superconductors, heterostructures with superconducting elements, and superconducting weak links exhibit unique phenomena that originate from single-particle excitations existing inside the energy gap. These sub-gap bound states e.g. reveal a quantum phase transition from the BCS-like to singly-occupied configurations inducing a 0-$\pi$ transition, manifest the subtle interplay of the Kondo effect with electron pairing, lead to dynamical transitions driven by external perturbations, and  many other. This workshop brings together renowned experts of the Andreev and Josephson spectroscopies to exchange information on the state-of-the-art techniques and sophisticated computational methods for analysis of the Yu-Shiba-Rusinov states that are important for fundamental science and novel technological devices.  

Topics include

  • materials, devices and spectroscopy of sub-gap states
  • interplay of pairing and correlations in single and coupled impurities
  • spin polarization and magnetic-field dependence
  • role of spin-orbit interactions
  • dynamical effects
  • transport properties and persistent currents
  • superconducting islands, Cooper boxes and topological Kondo effect
  • spatial extent and directionality of Yu-Shiba-Rusinov states
  • Andreev scattering

Invited speakers

Alexander V. Balatsky  (US)
Andreas Baumgartner (CH)
Wolfgang Belzig (DE)
Annica Black-Schaffer (SE)
Mahn-Soo Choi (KR)
Tristan Cren (FR)
Richard Deblock (FR)
Silvano de Franceschi (FR)
Reinhold Egger (DE)
Jürgen König (DE)
Eduardo Jian Hua Lee (ES)
Roman Lutchyn (US)
Volker Meden (DE)


Regis Mélin (FR)
Tobias Meng (DE)
Yuli V. Nazarov (NL)
Tomáš Novotný (CZ)
Jesper Nygård (DK)
Jens Paaske (DK)
Hugues Pothier (FR)
Pascal Simon (FR)
Christoph Strunk (DE)
Jens Wiebe (DE)
Clemens B. Winkelmann  (FR)
Alfredo L. Yeyati (ES)
Andrei D. Zaikin (DE)

Scientific Coordinators

Tadeusz Domanski
(Marie Curie-Sklodowska University, Lublin, Poland)

Katharina Franke
(Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)

Rok Zitko
(Jozef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia)


Jenny Kuehne
(Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany)


The deadline for applications was 2 January 2019. The participants list is closed.


Scientific Program

Preliminary time frame: Monday 8 April, 8:50, to Wednesday 10 April, 15:30.

The scientific program of the workshop will be available four to six weeks prior to the workshop.



How to reach us


Useful information for your way to the venue.

Contact Institute