Correlated Electrons in Transition-Metal Compounds:
New Challenges

International Workshop
5 - 9 November 2018

The aim of this workshop is to foster collaborations between scientists in the wide field of transition-metal compounds, to highlight recent developments, and to bring together experimental and theoretical physicists. The focus lies on the interplay and mutual frustration of electron-electron interactions (involving spin, charge, and orbital degrees of freedom) and spin-orbit coupling effects.

Topics include

  • Kitaev materials: iridates, RuCl3, and other TMCs
  • New theoretical tools - from DMRG to DMFT
  • Complex charge, spin, and orbital order
  • Extended first principles approaches
  • Skyrmions and chiral spin textures
  • Frustrated quantum magnetism
  • Novel 4d and 5d materials
  • Negative charge-transfer gap
  • High oxidation states
  • Multiferroicity
  • Orbital physics

Invited speakers

keynote speakers
Robert J. Cava (US)
Antoine Georges (FR & US)
Maxim Mostovoy (NL)
Yoshinori Tokura (JP)

J. Paul Attfield (UK)
Leon Balents (US)
Cristian D. Batista (US)
Markus Braden (DE)
Bernd Büchner (DE)
Gang Cao (US)
Jak Chakhalian (US)
Sang-Wook Cheong (US)
Radu Coldea (UK)
Andrea Damascelli (CA)
Claudia Felser (DE)
Manfred Fiebig (CH)
Philipp Gegenwart (DE)
Joachim Hemberger (DE)
George Jackeli (DE)
Oleg Janson (DE)
Bernhard Keimer (DE)
Giniyat Khaliullin (DE)
Daniel Khomskii (DE)
Thomas Lorenz (DE)

Andrew Mackenzie (DE)
Antoine Maignan (FR)
Igor Mazin (US)
Andrew Millis (US)
John Mitchell (US)
Takashi Mizokawa (JP)
Roderich Moessner (DE)
Naoto Nagaosa (JP)
Andrzej M. Oles (PL)
Je-Geun Park (KR)
Warren Pickett (US)
Paolo Radaelli (UK)
Alessandro Revelli (DE)
Judit Romhanyi (JP)
Henrik M. Rønnow (CH)
Achim Rosch (DE)
Tanusri Saha Dasgupta (IN)
D.D. Sarma (IN)
Nicola Spaldin (CH)
Sergey Strel'tsov (RU)
Hao Tjeng (DE)
Simon Trebst (DE)
Roser Valenti (DE)
Dirk van der Marel (CH)
Paul H.M. van Loosdrecht (DE)
Matthias Vojta (DE)

Scientific Coordinators

Markus Grüninger
Universität zu Köln, Germany

George A. Sawatzky
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

Jeroen van den Brink
IFW Dresden, Germany


Katrin Lantsch
(Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany)


The deadline for applications was 15 August 2018. The participants list is closed.

read more

Scientific program structure

Sunday, 4th November: Registration and welcome reception
Monday, 5th November, 09:00 to Friday, 9th November, 14:00: Workshop program

read more

How to reach us


Useful information for your way to the venue.

Contact Institute