Challenges in Nanoscale Physics of Wetting Phenomena

International Workshop
26 - 30 August 2019

Contemporary approaches to probe wetting phenomena now involve nanoregimes. Following recent growing potential to bridge the dynamics of the contact line at the mesoscopic length scales to the macroscopic flow, this workshop aims to bring together new experimental techniques such atomic microscopy and X-ray imaging, theoretical tools to include van der Waals and electrostatic interactions, and computational approaches such as molecular dynamics, allowing new insights into this old problem. In addition, new concepts will be introduced, including superhydrophobic and textured surfaces, electrowetting, liquid crystals and suspensions on surfaces, self-assembly of particles at the contact line, wetting of elastic substrates and gels, solidifications of molten metals on substrates and spreading and wetting of liquid metals.

Key questions

  • What are the range of length and time scales characterizing the interaction of the substrate with the two-phase flow?
  • Which computational tools are more amenable to a multiscale organization?
  • Can matching hydrodynamic theories to a molecular description of the contact line be done seamlessly?
  • What are the most appropriate existing or to be developed experiments for benchmarking computational results?
  • Can we make more educated suggestions when to use which computational tools for a particular wetting system?

Invited speakers

* to be confirmed

Nikolaus Adams (DE)
Vladimir Ajaev (US)
Gustav Amberg (SE)
Günter Auernhammer (DE)
Daniel Bonn (NL)
Dieter Bothe (DE)
Andreas Carlson (NO)
Pierre Colinet (BE)
Joel de Coninck (BE)
Jens Eggers (GB)
Guillaume Galliero (FR)
Stephen Garoff (US)
Berk Hess (SE)
Serafim Kalliadasis (GB)
Hyoungsoo Kim (KR)
Lou Kondic (US)
Satish Kumar (US)
Laurent Limat (FR)
Ofer Manor (IL)
Glen McHale (GB)
David Quéré (FR)
Weiqing Ren (SG)
Ilia Roisman (DE)
Jie Shen (US)
Yulii Shikhmurzaev (GB)
Paul Steen (US)
Peter Stephan (DE)
Uwe Thiele (DE)
Mark Wilson (GB)
Stephen Wilson (GB)
Ehud Yariv (IL)
Stéphane Zaleski (FR)

Scientific Coordinators

Shahriar Afkhami
(New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, US)

Tatiana Gambaryan-Roisman
(Technische Universität Darmstadt, DE)

Len Pismen
(Technion, Haifa, IL)


Jenny Kuehne
& Claudia Domaschke (Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany)


The deadline for applications was 26 May 2019. The participants list is closed.

read more

Scientific Program

The scientific program of the workshop can be found here.

Preliminary scientific program

How to reach us


Useful information for your way to the venue.

Contact Institute