Control of Ultrafast (Attosecond and Strong Field) Processes Using Structured Light

Seminar & Focus Workshop
29 June - 17 July 2020
(Focus Workshop week: 6 - 8 July 2020)

Attosecond and strong field physics are evolving in new directions, unified by the concept of lightwave electronics: from the generation of structured pulses with tailored angular momentum properties, the control of the enantiosensitive electronic response in chiral molecules, the study of non-linear properties of solid-state materials, to the generation and application of electron matter-wave vortices.

Topics include

  • ultrafast quantum dynamics with vector beams
  • ultrafast lightwave electronics, valleytronics and spintronics
  • chirality and topology in non-linear and ultrafast light-matter interaction
  • generation, control, and application of electron matter-wave vortices
  • high harmonic generation in solid-state materials and structured targets
  • generation of attosecond pulses with tailored angular momentum properties
  • attosecond spectroscopy of electron dynamics in solids
  • ultrafast electronic and vibronic response of chiral molecules
  • ultrafast magnetism driven by structured light beams
  • generation of coherent structured x-rays

Invited speakers

Ayuso, David (DE)
Bandrauk, André D. (CA)
Batelaan, Herman (US)
Bauer, Dieter (DE)
Berakdar, Jamal (DE)
Bian, Xue-Bin (CN)
Brabec, Thomas (CA)
Burgdoerfer, Joachim (AT)
Centurion, Martin (US)
Chen, Ming-Chang  (TW)
Cohen, Oren (IL)
Dorney, Kevin M. (US)
Dudovich, Nirit (IL)
Durfee, Charles (US)
Fennel, Thomas  (DE)
Ferreira da Silva, Rui Emanuel (ES)
Frolov, Mikhail (RU)
Gaarde, Mette (US)
Greene, Chris (US)
Huber, Rupert (DE)
Ishikawa, Kenichi (JP)
Jiménez Galán, Álvaro (DE)
Kazamias, Sophie (FR)
Khokhlova, Margarita (UK)
L'Huillier, Anne (SE)
Lein, Manfred (DE)
Lin, Chii-Dong (US)
Madsen, Lars Bojer (DK)
Martin, Fernando (ES)
Milosevic, Dejan B. (BA)
Morishita, Toru (JP)
Murnane, Margaret (US)
Ordoñez, Andrés (DE)
Patchkovskii, Serguei (DE)
Paulus, Gerhard G. (DE)
Peng, Liang-You (CN)
Picón, Antonio (ES)
Pisanty, Emilio (ES)
Plaja, Luis (ES)
Popmintchev, Tenio (US)
Quéré, Fabien (FR)
Reis, David (US)
Ruchon, Thierry (FR)
Schafer, Kenneth (US)
Smirnova, Olga (DE)
Vampa, Giulio (US)
Witte, Stefan (NL)
Wollenhaupt, Matthias (DE)





Scientific Coordinators

Carlos Hernández-Garcia
(Universidad de Salamanca, Spain)

Mikhail Yu. Ivanov
(Max-Born-Institut , Berlin, Germany)



The conference will have a session dedicated to
the memory and scientific contributions of
Prof. Anthony Starace who was also instrumental in
laying the foundation for this event.

Members of the scientific committee

Jean Marcel Ngoko-Djiokap
(University of Nebraska–Lincoln, USA)

Katarzyna Krajewska
(University of Warsaw, Poland)

Maria Richter
(Max-Born-Institut, Berlin)

Laura Rego 
(Universidad de Salamanca, Spain)


Mandy Lochar
(Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany)


Applications are welcome and should be made by using the application form.

Applications received before 15th March 2020 are considered preferentially.

The number of attendees is limited. The registration fee for the international seminar & focus workshop is 140€ and should be paid by all participants. Costs for accommodation and meals will be covered by the Max Planck Institute. Limited funding is available to partially cover travel expenses.

read more

Scientific program structure

seminar period - 29 June to 3 July 2020
focus workshop - 6 - 8 July 2020
- 9 to 17 July 2020

read more

How to reach us


Useful information for your way to the venue.

Contact Institute